My initial impressions about Panasonic 14-42 pancake zoom are positive

Panasonic’s new 14-42 pancake zoom lens seems promising for use with GF1 or GX1 small good quality cameras although I may lose some shots because zooming is slow.

Here are my initial observations before I’ve had a chance to take any real-life photos. This is not a full review, just a description how the lens matches with my personal expectations.

  • Auto focus speed very promising
    • not radically different from 14-45 kit lens = quick enough for me
  • Auto focus reliability & tracking
    • can’t test today
  • Very small, feels light.
    • Small size is the whole point of GF1 & GX1 cameras.
  • Zooming is slooooow compared to zooming using a manual ring (that the lens doesn’t have)
    • Canon S90 compact camera zooms faster from wide to tele
    • Canon S90 has 3.8x range, this lens is only 3x.
  • Lens cap ridiculously small & could be easier to insert/remove
    • I’m going to lose it one day
  • No irritating wait between power on + first photo
    • 14-45 kit lens is faster because no need to move optics during power on
  • Build quality good
    • Would feel safer with manual zoom ring instead of electronic zoom
  • Image quality: can’t test today
    • consult pixel peepers
    • I don’t expect radical difference to 14-45 kit lens and that is good enough for me (for a small camera).

I tested with GF1 that doesn’t have the latest firmware. The lens might perform better with the newer GX1 body.

Some test images here.

2 Responses to “My initial impressions about Panasonic 14-42 pancake zoom are positive”


  1. 1 PPusa November 17, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    Haven’t had much chance to test the lens yet. It’s dark when I go to work and dark when I return. (and on Saturday it’s supposed to rain…)

  2. 2 that site April 17, 2013 at 11:02 pm

    I every time spent my half an hour to read this blog’s content every day along with a cup of coffee.


Leave a Reply

Any feedback is welcome at ppblogs@welho.com

 Subscribe in a reader



You may not use material from this blog without an agreement with the author.

My Tweets

PPusa at Flickr

More Photos

PPusa Was Inspired By (Flickr)

PPusa - Flickriver
free hit counter code

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

